Main tourist destinations of Mexico

The main tourist destinations in Mexico -Cancún, Riviera Maya, Los Cabos, Puerto Vallarta and Mexico City- were exempt from the maximum travel warning issued by the United States.

These five destinations represent 80% of the trips of foreign tourists to Mexico, according to data from the Ministry of Tourism (Sectur).

«The main concern comes from the fact that crime and violence statistics used for the assessment of destinations are not related to incidents that directly affected foreign visitors,» the agency explained.

When renewing the system of travel alerts for its citizens, the United States government classified at the highest level of risk five entities in Mexico: Colima, Guerrero, Michoacán, Sinaloa and Tamaulipas.

In all five cases, the State Department requests to avoid trips due to the crime that prevails in those entities.

The new travel recommendation system of the US Department of State will be carried out only once a year and will cover approximately 180 countries.

The travel recommendations will be divided into four levels:

Level 1 (blue): Take normal precautions
Level 2 (yellow): Take extra precautions
Level 3 (orange): Reconsider the trip
Level 4 (red): Do not travel

According to the classification published by the Department of State, Mexico is at level 2, which means that additional precautions must be taken.

The tourist destinations exempt from travel restrictions indicated in the document are:

Baja California Sur: Cabo San Lucas, San Jose del Cabo and La Paz
Quintana Roo: Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Mayan Riviera, Isla Mujeres and Isla Holbox
Mexico City
Jalisco: Guadalajara, Puerto Vallarta, Chapala and Ajijic
Nayarit: Riviera Nayarit, Punta Mita, Nuevo Vallarta, Santa Maria del Oro and Xalisco
Guanajuato: Guanajuato and San Miguel de Allende
Yucatán: Chichen Itzá, Mérida, Uxmal and Valladolid
Puebla: City of Puebla
Chiapas: Palenque, San Cristóbal de las Casas and Tuxtla Gutiérrez
Baja California: Ensenada, Rosarito and Tijuana
Oaxaca: City of Oaxaca and Huatulco
Campeche: City of Campeche
Queretaro: Santiago de Querétaro
Coahuila: Piedras Negras and Ciudad Acuna.

Que opinas de esto? Deja tu comentario!!

Personas han comentado esto.

También te podría gustar...